Newbery and Caldecott Winners 2016

The American Library Association announced its winners for the Youth Media Awards for 2016. Find a complete list of winners here.


Last Stop On  Market Street by Matt de la Pena won the Newbery Award for 2016. It also won a Caldecott Honor for it’s illustrator,  Christian Robinson.

Three Newbery Honor Books also were named: The War that Saved My Life written by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley, Roller Girl written and illustrated by Victoria Jamieson,  and Echo written by Pam Munoz Ryan.



Finbearding Winnie: the True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear by Lindsay Mattick, illustrated by Sophie Blackall won the Caldecott Award for 2016.

Four Caldecott Honor Books also were named: Trombone Shorty illustrated by Bryan Collier, Waiting illustrated and written by Kevin Henkes, Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer, Spirit of the Civil Rights Movement illustrated by Ekua Holmes, written by Carole Boston Weatherford,  and Last Stop on Market Street illustrated by Christian Robinson, written by Matt de le Pena.